Posted in Teachable Heart

Caged No More

 

The free bird leaps
on the back of the wind
and floats downstream
till the current ends
and dips his wings
in the orange sun rays
and dares to claim the sky.

But a bird that stalks
down his narrow cage
can seldom see through
his bars of rage
his wings are clipped and
his feet are tied
so he opens his throat to sing.

The caged bird sings
with fearful trill
of the things unknown
but longed for still
and his tune is heard
on the distant hill for the caged bird
sings of freedom

The free bird thinks of another breeze
and the trade winds soft through the sighing trees
and the fat worms waiting on a dawn-bright lawn
and he names the sky his own.

But a caged bird stands on the grave of dreams
his shadow shouts on a nightmare scream
his wings are clipped and his feet are tied
so he opens his throat to sing

The caged bird sings
with a fearful trill
of things unknown
but longed for still
and his tune is heard
on the distant hill
for the caged bird
sings of freedom.

-Maya Angelou 

I often feel like that caged bird. Broken wing, tied down feet, locked up, and just singing about my dreams but never able to fulfill them.

I know that the last time you heard from me, when I bared my soul and told you my story, I ended on a happy note, all full of cheer and happy endings. I still believe in that Happily Ever After, but that doesn’t stop me from pouting and dreaming and moping about some days.

I feel just like that bird, caged in behind bars of rage, ranting and raving at God that I am stuck in this particular place and time.

It’s so easy to mope about. I hate saying this, but it is starkly true. I would much rather walk about with my mask on. The mask that says that I’m a good little Christian that never doubts or questions God. The one who is always well behaved, who never yells at her mother or fights with her older sister, who is never selfish or…..you get the picture, but then I wouldn’t be human. God made me human, He choose me as I am, and he doesn’t mind my rants. After all, those are the very things that draw me close to him. For in my cries of pain and anguish, I drag myself to the alter of grace, anger may boil inside me, but he never shrinks away, he listens, patiently with love, and when I am through, He calls me hither and holds me, and lets me know that He is always there for me.

I’m not really caged, for with God’s grace I soar. I am free in Christ, free to be human, free to doubt, free to wail, to cry out to Him even in my rage and anguish. I am free because Jesus has made me so. He will never push me away, and allows me to be human and honest before Him. Allows me even to be angry in His presence for then He soothes that anger, rebukes when needed, but always loves. Jesus pulls me up, wipes the tears from my eyes, and then gives me His perfect peace.

Before God we must unmask. We are unmasked, even if we won’t admit it. To be bare and naked before Him, to let Him know when we don’t feel like being good, when we feel only the pain within our hearts for this is when He heals.

The caged bird can’t see outside his bars of rage, but thanks be to God that He broke into our cages and let us free.

I may feel that there is no way out, that I will never fly over the heavens, but one is only caged if we believe ourselves to be.

We don’t have to be caged and sing with fearful trill of the things unknown, yet longed for still.

God broke those chains long ago, and all we have to do is soar.

Author:

I am a Christian, farmer girl, home schooled, SPD survival (more to come on THAT to come) and student of Health Coaching at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition.

Leave a Reply

